Hundreds of members from the South Houston Concerned Citizens’ Coalition (SHCCC) gathered at the FountainLife Center on January 26th for its 6th annual awards banquet, honoring Ms. Vivian Harris. With the evening’s theme of “Community of One,” District K Council Member Martha Castex-Tatum introduced Mayor Sylvester Turner, who, in turn, delivered the keynote speech.

Mayor Turner affectionately recalled his earliest days in his political career, that he was somewhat “frightened” by the influence wielded by Ms. Harris and sought to never disappoint her. When he launched his mayoral campaign over four years ago, he was “invited” to a meeting at Ms. Harris’ home. The invitation wasn’t suggestive, rather he understood that he had to oblige. Ms. Harris had assembled a room full of neighborhood leaders whom, to this day, Mayor Turner still counts as his mentors.

In keeping with the “Community of One” theme, the Mayor urged all Houstonians to become “participants” in their community and avoid being naysayers. He also suggested that Houstonians continue to live and support the City and to avoid being lured to the “Lands.” There were lots of people with question mark expressions, until Mayor Turner explained that the Lands included SugarLAND, PearLAND, the WoodLANDs.

Ms. Harris received praise for her 43 years of service in civic causes. She served as the constituent liaison to two District K Council Members and served in numerous capacities with SHCCC. Mayor Turner was joined by Council Members Castex-Tatum and Amanda Edwards and presented a proclamation to Ms. Harris. Mayor Turner explained that Council Member David Robinson, who was one of the signature sponsors for the banquet, sorely regretted missing the landmark occasion. Mayor Turner invited HISD Trustee Wanda Adams, Harris County Attorney Vince Ryan, Mary Seymore representing Senator Borris Miles, and former State Representatives Paul Colbert and Scott Hochberg in presenting the proclamation. Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee also presented a congressional proclamation to Ms. Harris.

Board members Cindy Chapman and Sylvia Rivas attended the banquet from the Brays Oaks District. Ben Brewer, Executive Director, also attended.

Board members Homer Clark, Melva Thornton, Edna Deauvearo, Vivian Harris, and George Anderson attended on behalf of Five Corners District. Ben Brewer, General Manager, also attended.

Ted Andrews, Chairman of TIRZ 9 and 25, both located in the Five Corners District were also in attendance and Congress Woman Sheila Jackson Lee, presented a special award to Ms. Harris.